The journey so far as a Smart Contract Auditor

I found blockchain technology during the Covid, and I’ve nurtured my interest ever since. I was aware of cryptocurrencies years before 2020 but never thought about the technology that powered them. With so much free time during the pandemic, I wanted to build a skill, so I chose smart contract development.

I am not a newbie to tech. I tried my hands on Java at a very early age, but I stopped programming using Java because my learning pattern was skewed. I never had any mentorship, so my learning wasn’t structured. I wanted to do things right this time because there was every indication that I would be doing blockchain development for quite a long time. I went on Udemy, and I bought my first course. The course costs about $10.

I am always grateful for this course because even though It didn't give me all I needed to know, like most courses, it equipped me with the fundamentals I needed to progress in the journey.

Months later, I found smart contract security and auditing after building different projects, including an NFT marketplace, a blockchain-voting system, etc., many of which are on my GitHub page. I found it fascinating that I could be paid to secure a smart contract in use by a web3 protocol. The avenues for growth and development, learning, and earning really got me hooked.

Since I found smart contract auditing, I have participated in the audit of over 5 protocols, including lending and borrowing, yield aggregators, staking, etc., on ImmuneFi. While doing these audits, I never felt like I knew enough. I wasn't paid much for these audits, I was just glad I was learning.

Motivation and Incentives

I have always been interested in auditing. Before I found blockchain, it was accounting. My dream has always been to safeguard people’s assets entrusted to an individual, company, or institution. Luckily, I found blockchain technology before finishing my college degree, and learning that I could do what I love to do as a smart contract auditor gave me all the motivation I needed; however, as established earlier, despite all that I’ve learned, it doesn't feel like I know enough.
RealJohnny's Smart Contract Hacking (SCH) course provides structure in a space that is trying to find structure because the smart contract auditing space is still in its infancy. It provides the chance to learn up close from people I have admired from afar, people like Pashov, Trust, Owen, and of course, RealJohnnyTime, the pioneer of the course. SCH offers a chance to help me be at my best in smart contract auditing and equip me with the fundamentals to excel in my journey as an auditor.

Career Plan

There are two things I plan to do upon taking the course. The first is to build enough track records by attempting as many hackathons and contests as possible. This will help me secure a role as an auditor with reputable firms like Paladin Blockchain Security, Cyfrin Audits, Trust Security, etc., or as an independent auditor like Pashov.

Secondly, I intend to pay forward this opportunity if granted one myself. Those who know about smart contract security are few in my current environment. It would be nice to show them how a career path in smart contract auditing can be liberating and rewarding. Being an ambassador for SCH or a partnership can help make that happen.